Uncategorized

Rain in the Summer

Discouragement is part of any major undertaking.
Selling a book, building a house, even raising a child–there are days filled with doubt, darkness around the edges drifting in.
Trying to find an agent I definitely feel discouraged sometimes. I have been doing this long enough that I can work through periods of doubt, but the past few days have definitely been trying.
The book I am shopping is controversial. It is very timely and I believe in it completely, but I am aware that the subject matter is controversial.
I knew from the beginning that finding an agent would be a challenge.
I still get discouraged, though; it’s part of the deal.
I’m sure you understand. I know you have had (or have) major undertakings in your life that have been a series of battles, some of which you did not win.
It gets better, it just takes determination. Nothing worthwhile is easy, to coin a cliché.

I work (at my “pays the bills” job) from four in the afternoon until half past midnight.
On days like this, I wake up by eight and start writing or doing research by nine.
I have a new project I am working that I have done around thirty pages on. Ideally, it will be the novel I sell after the one I am currently seeking an agent for.
I’ve been working on it for a couple of weeks. I started writing in third person and something didn’t seem right–
I switched it to a first person narration and now it feels good. We’ll see how it pans out in the coming weeks…

Leave a Reply

